Tags

, ,

My colleague, Liz, originally started Pilates as she had many issues with her own body.  She noticed the improvements very quickly and so decided to train with Body Control with the aim of sharing this method with others who would also benefit from the exercises.

Once she had completed her training course she opened The Matwork Studio in Aston and quickly built up a thriving business as people could see the improvements that Liz’s teaching made to her clients.

Her clientele was mainly taken from those who had been referred to her by local osteopaths and chiropractors and involved rehabilitating backs, shoulders, hip and knee replacements etc etc etc!

In September 2009 I took over some of the classes in Aston and, following Liz’s retirement in August 2011, I started teaching the remaining classes.  I am pleased to say that there are still many of Liz’s original clients who started with her 11 years ago and who are still seeing the benefits from Pilates.  My youngest client is in her twenties.  My oldest is in her (very) late seventies.

I am building on Liz’s legacy at The Matwork Studio continuing with the focus on rehabilitation and working alongside other local professionals.

The picture above this blog is of many of Liz’s long term clients celebrating her retirement and 10 years of Pilates teaching at The Matwork Studio.  Here’s to the next 10 years.